About Us



For Immediate Release
Contact: Julie Schnidman
Foundation Manager
(312) 542-9015

Kevin J. Clancy Wins 2015 Parlin Award

The Parlin Board of Governors, an entity of the AMA and the American Marketing Association Foundation (AMAF), has named Kevin J. Clancy the recipient of the 2015 Charles Coolidge Parlin Marketing Research Award. The award ceremony took place on June 15, 2015, at the AMA’s Advanced Research Techniques Forum in San Diego.

The Charles Coolidge Parlin Marketing Research Award was established in 1945 by the Philadelphia Chapter of the AMA and the University of Pennsylvania’s Wharton School in association with the Curtis Publishing Co. to honor distinguished academics and practitioners who have demonstrated outstanding leadership and sustained impact on the evolving profession of marketing research over an extended period. The Parlin Award was established as a memorial to Charles Coolidge Parlin, recognized as a founder of marketing research and acknowledged for his early benchmarking studies of consumer issues.

Clancy, retired chairman of Copernicus Marketing Consulting and Research, earned the 2015 award in recognition of his contributions to marketing research and his practice in the areas of multidimensional scaling, classification and multivariate statistics, especially as they pertain to substantive marketing problems in positioning, market structure, consumer choice, market segmentation and competitive strategy. Praise for Clancy’s work listed in his nomination package stated: “Kevin’s tools and approaches for acquiring and mobilizing data in difficult situations—such as those commonly encountered in business-to-business market situations—have proven very useful and practical in wide variety of complex buying and marketing situations where multiple elements of the value chain are involved. … For his landmark contributions to market research, practical tools and techniques, readable and useful books, and mentorship counseling and coaching, Kevin Clancy deserves consideration for the Parlin Award.”

Clancy started his career with BBDO while completing a Ph.D. in research methods and statistics at New York University. Three years later, he joined the faculty of the University of Pennsylvania’s Wharton School, where he taught research methods and advertising management on both the MBA and doctoral levels. Next, he moved on to Boston University as a tenured full professor and director of the doctoral program in management.

While at BU, Clancy launched Yankelovich Clancy Shulman, a consulting and research firm where he served as chairman and CEO. When YCS was sold to investment bankers, Clancy left to open Copernicus Marketing Consulting and Research. Inspired by the 16th-century astronomer Copernicus, Clancy argued that marketing, not finance, is the center of the business solar system, and he has spent the last 20 years promoting this perspective around the world.

Clancy has authored eight books and numerous articles published in trade and academic journals, and has presented at conferences for the AMA, Association of Strategic Planners, Association of National Advertisers, The Conference Board and other organizations. In 2008, he was elected to the Marketing Research Hall of Fame by the Market Research Council.

In receiving the Parlin Award, Clancy joins marketing research legends such as Robert Wood Johnson, Peter Drucker, Arthur C. Nielsen, George Gallup, August A. Busch III, Paul E. Green, Philip Kotler and Robert J. Lavidge. Clancy is the award’s 80th recipient.

2015 Charles Coolidge Parlin Award Board of Governors:

Timothy B. Parlin, Esq., Carroll, McNulty & Kull LLC (Chair)
Magid Abraham, comScore
Christopher Chapman, Google
William Cron, Neeley School of Business, Texas Christian University
Peter Fader, The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania
Jeffrey Hunter, Market Framework, Inc.
Russ Klein, American Marketing Association
Donald Lehmann, Columbia Business School, Columbia University
Robert Meyer, The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania
Ric Sweeney, Carl H. Lindner College of Business, University of Cincinnati