About Us



For Immediate Release
Contact: Julie Schnidman
Foundation Manager
(312) 542-9015

AMA & AMA Foundation Announce 2014 Parlin Award

The Parlin Board of Governors, as an entity of the American Marketing Association (AMA) and the American Marketing Association Foundation (AMAF), announce Wayne S. DeSarbo, the Mary Jean and Frank P. Smeal Distinguished Professor of Marketing at the Smeal College of Business at the Pennsylvania State University as the recipient of the 2014 Charles Coolidge Parlin Marketing Research Award.  This award recognizes DeSarbo’s substantial contributions and unwavering dedication to the ongoing advancement of marketing research practice.  The Charles Coolidge Parlin Marketing Research Award ceremony will take place on Monday, June 23, 2014, at the AMA Advanced Research Techniques (ART) Forum in Santa Fe, NM.

The Charles Coolidge Parlin Marketing Research Award was established in 1945 by the Philadelphia Chapter of the AMA and The Wharton School in association with the Curtis Publishing Company to honor distinguished academics and practitioners who have demonstrated outstanding leadership and sustained impact on the evolving profession of marketing research over an extended period.  Established as a memorial to Charles Coolidge Parlin, recognized as a founder of marketing research and acknowledged for his early benchmarking studies of consumer issues, the Parlin Award is today a preeminent national honor.

Professor DeSarbo has published over 170 articles in such prestigious journals as the Journal of Marketing Research, Psychometrika, Journal of Consumer Research, Journal of Mathematical Psychology, Marketing Science, Journal of Econometrics, Journal of Marketing, Management Science, and the Journal of the American Statistical Association.  His methodological interests lie in multidimensional scaling, classification, and multivariate statistics, especially as they pertain to substantive marketing problems in positioning, market structure, consumer choice, and market segmentation.  He was one of a few prominent Marketing scholars to be selected by the Royal Swedish Academy to serve on the Nobel Prize Nomination Committee.  He has ten years of work experience in Marketing Research at AT&T and Bell Laboratories, and has been a consultant for such diverse firms as AMERITECH, AT&T, Ad Audit, Pfizer Drug, SENMED, Pacific Bell, General Motors, Hughes Aircraft, GTE, Motorola, Marketing Metrics, Blue Cross, Eli Lilly Co., and Merck Pharmaceuticals.  He is the Executive Director of the newly formed Center for Sports Business and Research here at Penn State University. Wayne is the former PA State, USA, and World Champion Powerlifting Champion in the Unlimited Heavy Weight Division.

In receiving this prestigious award, DeSarbo joins other marketing research legends such as Robert Wood Johnson, Peter Drucker, Arthur C. Nielsen, George Gallup, August A. Busch III, Paul E. Green, John A. Howard, Philip Kotler, Robert J. Lavidge, and Jagdish Sheth.

2014 Charles Coolidge Parlin Award Board of Governors:

Timothy B. Parlin, Esq., Carroll, McNulty & Kull LLC (Chair)
Greg Allenby, Fisher College of Business, Ohio State University
Christopher Chapman, Google
William Cron, Neeley School of Business, Texas Christian University
Rick Dow, BringMeTheKnews
Dennis Dunlap, American Marketing Association
Peter Fader, The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania
Jordan Louviere, The University of South Australia
Robert Meyer, The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania
Herb Sorensen, The University of South Australia