About Us



(CHICAGO, IL, October 6, 2009) — The Parlin Board of Governors, as an instrument of the American Marketing Association (AMA) and the American Marketing Association Foundation (AMAF), honored Dr. Magid Abraham as the recipient of the 2009 Charles Coolidge Parlin Marketing Research Award at the 2009 AMA Marketing Research Conference on October 6 in Palm Springs, CA. The Parlin Award was given to Dr. Abraham in recognition of his substantial contributions and unwavering dedication to the ongoing advancement of marketing research practice.

The Charles Coolidge Parlin Marketing Research Award was established in 1945 by the Philadelphia Chapter of the AMA and The Wharton School in association with the Curtis Publishing Company to honor distinguished academics and practitioners who have demonstrated outstanding leadership and sustained impact on the evolving profession of marketing research over an extended period of time. Established as a memorial to Charles Coolidge Parlin, who is recognized as a founder of marketing research, and acknowledged for his early benchmarking studies of consumer issues, the Parlin Award is today a preeminent national honor.

Dr. Abraham is president, CEO and co-founder of comScore, Inc. Prior to co-founding comScore, Dr. Abraham was founder and CEO of Paragren Technologies, Inc., which specialized in delivering large scale Customer Relationship Marketing (CRM) systems for strategic and target marketing, and served as president and COO of Information Resources, Inc., a major international research company.

Dr. Abraham is a widely recognized expert on consumer modeling and decision support systems. He has authored several articles in the Harvard Business Review and Marketing Science. He has received the Paul Green award from the AMA and AMA Foundation for the "best article that shows or demonstrates the most potential to contribute to the practice of marketing research and research in marketing," and the AMA’s William F. O’Dell Award for an article “that has made the most significant long-term contribution to the marketing discipline.” In 2008, Dr. Abraham was named an Ernst & Young® Entrepreneur of the Year.

Dr. Abraham received a Ph.D. in Operations Research and an M.B.A. from MIT. He also holds an Engineering degree from the Ecole Polytechnique, France's premier science and engineering school.

The 2009 Charles Coolidge Parlin Award Board of Governors included:

Rob Arnett, Solution Partners Consulting, Inc;
Eric T. Bradlow, The Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania;
Chuck Chakrapani, Ted Rogers School of Management at Ryerson University;
Dennis Dunlap, American Marketing Association;
Tulin Erdem, Leonard N. Stern School of Business, New York University;
Peter Fader, The Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania;
Tom Hernquist, Bon-Ton Stores, Inc.;
Timothy B. Parlin, Esq., Carroll, McNulty & Kull LLC; and
Joan Treistman, The Treistman Group LLC.