About Us



Charles Coolidge Parlin Marketing Research Award

(Nominations currently closed)

The American Marketing Association (AMA) and the American Marketing Association Foundation (AMAF) announces the annual call for nominations for the Charles Coolidge Parlin Marketing Research Award every winter.  The award was established in 1945 by the Philadelphia Chapter of the AMA and The Wharton School in association with the Curtis Publishing Company to honor persons who have made outstanding contributions to the field of marketing research.  Established as a memorial to Charles Coolidge Parlin, who is recognized as a founder of marketing research, The Parlin Award is today a preeminent national honor.  Nominees may be either practitioners or academicians in the field of marketing research who meet the following award criteria (as adopted by the Parlin Board of Governors, September 1996). 

Please be advised that the Parlin Board is accepting nominations in the practitioner category this year.

To be awarded the Charles Coolidge Parlin Marketing Research Award, distinguished academics and practitioners must have demonstrated outstanding leadership and sustained impact on advancing the evolving profession of marketing research over an extended period of time.  Specifically, this transformational impact might be reflected in one or more of the following:

  • New concepts, methods, and models for measurement and analysis that expand the capabilities of organizations to achieve a better understanding of markets, customers and consumers.
  • Creative integration of existing methodologies and an understanding of information needs resulting in more widespread use and/or appreciation of marketing research.
  • Demonstrated leadership resulting in stimulating the effective use and value of marketing research and market based knowledge.

As part of the final award selection, the nominee must be available to accept the award at the 2017 AMA Advanced Research Techniques Forum (ART Forum), which will be held from June 25 - June 27, 2017 in Seattle, WA.

Recipients - Charles Coolidge Parlin Marketing Research Award