About Us



Vijay Mahajan Award

The Vijay Mahajan award was named after marketing professor Vijay Mahajan to honor his career contributions and advancements in marketing strategy.  It was established in 2000 by the American Marketing Association Foundation (AMAF).  Former colleagues, doctoral students, co-authors and friends of Mahajan endowed the annual award in his honor.  The goal of this award is to inspire marketing educators through their work in marketing strategies.

Dr. Mahajan is currently the John P. Harbin Chair in Business at the University of Texas at Austin.  He has been involved in the AMA for more than a decade and has made significant contributions to the advancement of the marketing discipline. He is a recipient of a number of awards and honors including the AMA Charles Coolidge Parlin Marketing Research Award (1997), the AMA Marketing Research SIG Gilbert Churchill Award (1999), and the AMA Maynard Award (1990).  Dr. Mahajan served as the editor of the Journal of Marketing Research from 1994-1997 and he has been extensively published in a number of leading journals including the Journal of Marketing, Journal of Marketing Research, Management Science, and Marketing Science.


The individual to be honored by the Vijay Mahajan Award must be a marketing educator affiliated with an institution of higher learning, who has made sustained contributions to marketing strategy literature over a span of ten or more years.

Selection Criteria

The winner is annually selected by the officers of the American Marketing Association Marketing Strategy Special Interest Group (SIG).  The individual will be honored at the AMA Marketing Educator’s Summer Conference.

Recipients - Vijay Mahajan Award

Donors - Vijay Mahajan Award